Does Popeyes have Gluten Free Options?

Nowadays, people have become pretty health-conscious. So, they have started noticing gluten restrictions, calorie counts, fat counts, and many more.

Hence, it is obvious for fast-food chains to adapt to the new norms and start including gluten-free items in their menu. So, it’s pretty common to find gluten-free items at fast-food chains.

Gluten is a protein that is found in grains. So, daily food items like bread, pizza, pasta, cereals, etc., have gluten.

Now, let’s dive into the main query, “Does Popeyes have gluten-free options.”

Does Popeyes have Gluten Free Options?

Popeyes does have some gluten-free options on its menu, which can be considered as side items. However, they do not have any separate menu related to this. Moreover, all of their major chicken-related items contain gluten, so if you are in absolute need of gluten-free food, avoid Popeyes.

Being a popular fried-chicken fast-food chain, Popeyes never considered it necessary to include gluten-free items, separately.

They never started gluten-free options, which are gluten-free side items. These include grits, Cajun rice, and baked chicken tenders to name a few.

Moreover, it is pretty obvious that since burgers, fries, and chicken crisps cover almost 90% of their menu and over 95% demand, so it is pretty hard to find gluten-free options here.

Do All Popeyes Locations have Gluten Free Options?

Being a popular brand, Popeyes have standardized menus all across their outlets. So, you can get these gluten-free items almost at every outlet. However, there might be slight differences in the menu concerning regions and locations due to the availability of certain ingredients and items.

So, it would be better if you could check out the menu before advancing to a specific outlet/store. You can check out a Popeyes outlet near you by visiting their store locator hereOpens in a new tab..

What Food at Popeyes is Gluten-Free?

All gluten-free items at Popeyes are side-items and most of them usually come in combos. So, there’s a high chance of cross-contamination. However, if you still want to go for their gluten-free options, then these are the choices.

Items listed as Gluten Free

  • Applesauce
  • Cajun Rice
  • Red Beans & Rice
  • Coleslaw
  • Jalapenos

Gluten-Free Side Items

  • Corn on the Cob
  • Cajun Rice
  • Coleslaw
  • Jalapenos
  • Red Beans & Rice

Gluten-Free Breakfast Options

  • Grits
  • Hashbrowns

Gluten-Free Sauces

  • Ranch
  • Sweet Heat
  • Mardi Gras Mustard
  • Cocktail
  • Tartar Sauce
  • Creamy Horse Radish
  • Blackened Ranch

Gluten-Free Drinks

  • Coke
  • Diet Coke
  • Sprite
  • Fanta Strawberry
  • Fanta Orange
  • Hawaiian Punch
  • Mountain Dew
  • Pepsi
  • Diet Pepsi
  • Dr Pepper
  • Unsweetened Tea
  • Sweet Tea
  • Orange Juice
  • Coffee

As far as gluten-free chicken items are considered, there aren’t many, just one to be precise, that is their naked tenders.

Does Popeyes have Gluten-Free Bread?

Unfortunately, all items which include bread, aren’t gluten-free. So, if you want to go hard on gluten-free options, you should look for other alternatives. However, you can always opt for side items like Cajun rice, Red beans, naked crispy chicken tenders, and other juices and grits.

Also, don’t opt for any complete chicken items if you are gluten allergic. Most of them have either breadcrumb (for the crispy effect) or wheat flour (for the batter).

Is Popeyes Gluten Free without Bun?

There are certain gluten-free side options available at Popeyes, apart from its burgers. These include grits, hashbrowns, Cajun rice, and red beans to name a few. All burger options contain gluten, both in the bread as well as in the chicken (breadcrumbs).

For an easy understanding of how to know which items contain gluten and which don’t, just look for items that might have wheat flour or bread/breadcrumbs. These items would surely have gluten.

What other Restaurants have Gluten Free Options?

Other restaurants which have better gluten-free options are Mcdonald’s, Wendy’s, and KFC to name a few. They have certain gluten-free items on the list which can be considered as major food options. If you are looking for just gluten-free outlets, then you might consider any one of these.

Moreover, it’s surely better to have a wide range of outlets with gluten-free options. This helps coeliacs to eat at peace without the need of worrying about anything.

What can I get at Popeyes That’s Gluten-Free?

At Popeyes, you can get gluten-free items such as Cajun rice, Coleslaw, Corn on the Cob, Hashbrowns, Grits. If you are looking for gluten-free sauce options, then there are Ranch, Sweet Heat, Mardi Gras Mustard, and Tartar Sauce to name a few.

Moreover, you can use store locators to check out outlets and specific menus in your location. This will help you in advance, before actually traveling to the store or outlet.

Also, if you ever doubt whether an item is gluten-free or not, do not hesitate even a bit to ask the employees. Popeyes is renowned for their extremely friendly and helpful staff behavior.

Brian A.

Brian has always loved the dining experience, a talent he inherited from his family, who already succeeded in the restaurant business. Throughout his years of managing various cultural restaurants, Brian has extensive knowledge in restaurant industry.

Recent Posts

error: Content is protected !!