Does Starbucks Have Vegan Options in 2022?


Vegan plant-based foods are not only delicious but also oftentimes many healthy alternatives to many meat-based meals.  The majority of restaurants have ensured vegan options fit into the dietary requirements.

You might be wondering if Starbucks has vegan options, as a premium coffee shop, yes, they do.

Does Starbucks Have Vegan Options?

Starbucks does have vegan options on its menu as of 2021. Their coffee and tea are vegan, and you can use an alternative form of milk like oat, coconut, soy, or almond milk to avoid any animal-based ingredients. You can also select from a wide variety of vegan drinks, snacks, and even food.

Starbucks also has a great assortment of prepackaged snacks along with a plant-based protein box you can indulge in for something more substantial to eat.

If you are ever unsure of an item, you can always ask an employee to verify if what you are interested in is vegan and appropriate for your dietary concerns.

What Food at Starbucks is Vegan?

There are various items on the Starbucks menu you can get that are vegan on their own or with some modification and replacing dairy products can become vegan.

  • Coffee
  • Americano – hot water with espresso
  • Plain brewed coffees – pike’s place, decaf, blonde roast, seasonal roasts
  • Café Latte – choose oat, soy, almond, or coconut milk to keep it vegan
  • Cappuccino – instead of milk choose a non-dairy alternative
  • Iced brown sugar oat milk shaken espresso
  • Java chip Frappuccino with non-dairy milk and omit the chips
  • Iced vanilla bean coconut milk latte
  • Iced chocolate almond milk shaken espresso
  • Iced peppermint mocha latte – be sure to order without dairy milk and do not add the chocolate shavings or whipped cream topping
  • Iced salted caramel mocha omit the caramel sauce and whipped topping
  • Tea
    • Iced matcha latte – with non-dairy milk
    • London fog tea – using a milk alternative
    • Matcha pink drink – using coconut milk
    • Unsweetened hot or iced tea
    • Matcha Frappuccino – ask for nondairy milk and omit the whipped cream
    • Iced pineapple matcha drink
    • Iced golden ginger drink
    • Iced matcha lemonade
    • Green tea crème Frappuccino – ask to omit the classic sweetener and instead use coconut milk and avoid the whipped cream topping
  • Food Items
    • Hippeas – chick pea snack
    • Chickpea bites and avocado protein box
    • Vegan bagel – sprouted multigrain bagel, you can even top this with an avocado spread instead of the cream cheese to keep it vegan
    • Oatmeal – ask for it to be made with a dairy alternative instead of the milk
    • Fruit salad
    • Sea salt potato chips
    • Justin’s nut butter spreads
    • Prepackaged mixed nuts
    • Prepackaged dried fruits

What Food at Starbucks is Not Vegan?

The foods and drinks at Starbucks that are not vegan are usually pretty simple to identify. Anything that contains milk, cream, chocolate, meat, eggs, etc. will not be considered vegan on their menu.

Here are a few items that aren’t considered vegan on Starbuck’s menu:

  • Coffee drinks both iced and hot made with dairy
  • All of their pastries are made with either milk, butter, eggs
  • Cake pops
  • Breakfast sandwiches
  • Egg bites
  • Grilled cheese
  • Ham and Swiss panini
  • Turkey panini
  • Chicken and bacon panini
  • Protein boxes that contain meat, dairy, eggs, etc.
  • Protein bowl with chicken and quinoa

Unfortunately most if not all of the baked goods, cookies, pastries, danishes, bagels, muffins, and scones are made with some form of dairy product and are not considered vegan.

What are Starbucks’s Vegan Items Made of?

The options considered vegan at Starbucks are made with ingredients that are derived from plant-based items. They won’t contain any meat, dairy, or animal byproducts. The prepackaged foods will also have a list of ingredients making it easy to differentiate your options.

What Other Fast-Food Restaurants Have Vegan Options?

Having a broad assortment of foods to choose from including vegan selections is important for every restaurant.

Some other fast-food establishments like McDonald’s, Panera, Burger KingOpens in a new tab., and even Wendy’sOpens in a new tab.. There really is no shortage of options when it comes to dining out and finding something vegan to eat.

What Can I Get at Starbucks That’s Vegan?

While Starbucks is known for its decadent desserts and rich milky coffee drinks, they make it very easy to order a drink or meal within vegan dietary guidelines.

If you are looking for a hot or cold drink you can ask your barista to use a milk alternative like oat, coconut, or almond milk. Your beverages will be just as tasty without any animal-based products.

Brian A.

Brian has always loved the dining experience, a talent he inherited from his family, who already succeeded in the restaurant business. Throughout his years of managing various cultural restaurants, Brian has extensive knowledge in restaurant industry.

Recent Posts

error: Content is protected !!