Does Subway Have Gluten-Free Options?

It makes sense that a chain like Subway has many menu items that can be considered gluten-free. Although they don’t have a specific menu dedicated to this dietary restriction, you shouldn’t have a problem finding a gluten-free meal or snack at Subway.

To ensure that you are getting a meal that is free of gluten, you want to know what gluten is, and what types of foods contain it as an ingredient.

Gluten is a type of protein commonly found in grains, and in many everyday food items like breakfast cereal, bread, pizza, cookies, and pasta to name a few. Gluten can also be incorporated in some meals and not be so obvious like breading and dip ingredients.

Related: Does Subway Have Vegan Options?

Does Subway have Gluten-Free Bread?

Subway does not have Gluten-Free bread on their men. Their bread is made of flour, and grains contain gluten. Instead, Subway offers gluten-free options like sandwiches, salads, protein bowls, soup, wrap, or flatbread.

Do All Subway Locations Have Gluten-Free?

All of Subway’s locations have gluten-free menu options. Subway has many locations across the world and they do business in a very uniform way by often standardizing their menus.

There may be slight variances by region for certain ingredients and availability. Be sure to check your local menu for the most up-to-date options. You can find a Subway near you by visiting their store locator hereOpens in a new tab..

What Food at Subway is Gluten-Free?

All of Subway’s cheesees like cheddar, provolone, American, and Swiss varieties are gluten free. Subway’s vegetables are also gluten-free. Generally, since gluten is found in grains it’s a good idea to avoid bread products at Subway.

There are also other items that may contain gluten like all of their desserts, wraps, and even in some of their soups and meats.

If you are unsure you can always ask an employee. Here are some of the meats you can get that are classified as gluten-free:

  • Tuna Salad
  • Turkey
  • Pepperoni
  • Salami
  • Roast Beef
  • Ham
  • Eggs
  • Chicken Strips
  • Chicken Patty

In addition to some great sources of protein, you’ll also be clear of gluten with these vegetable options:

  • Spinach
  • Tomato
  • Lettuce
  • Peppers
  • Onions
  • Olives
  • Jalapeños

If you are making a salad with the proteins and vegetables listed above, it’s a good idea to know what dressings are gluten-free:

  • Caesar
  • Oil and Vinegar
  • Vinaigrette
  • Chipotle Southwest
  • Buffalo
  • Ranch
  • Sweet Onion

Is Subway Gluten-Free Without the Bun?

If you choose to order a salad or a bowl you’ll still be able to enjoy many of the delicious flavors in a gluten-free option. Unfortunately, all loaves of bread, wraps, flatbreads and English muffins at Subway will contain gluten.

There are some protein exceptions at Subway that will contain gluten like:

  • meatballs
  • seafood salad
  • sweet onion 
  • chicken teriyaki 
  • salad
  • teriyaki chicken strips
  • chili
  • chicken and rice, dumpling, and noodle soups

You’ll notice that a common theme with the proteins that contain gluten is that they may contain flour as an ingredient or a type of breadcrumb.

What Other Restaurants Have Gluten-Free Options?

Other restaurants that have gluten-free options include McDonald’s, Arby’s, and Paner. Some people have medical conditions like celiac disease, dietary restrictions, or even gluten sensitivities that require them to avoid and remove gluten from their meal options.

Thankfully, there are numerous restaurants that can accommodate meals that are gluten-free.

What Can I Get at Subway That’s Gluten-Free?

At Subway, you can get gluten-free items such as salads, topped with some of your favorite proteins, soups, bowls, and if you’re looking for something sweet, the apple sauce can be your go-to dessert option.

You may even find that some locations have an indulgent gluten-free brownie on their menu. 

Subway has a very useful reference resource that will list out ingredients so you can check them before placing your order. You can find that hereOpens in a new tab..

If you are ever doubtful about whether a specific menu item at Subway contains gluten or wheat, you can always ask a Subway staff member.

Brian A.

Brian has always loved the dining experience, a talent he inherited from his family, who already succeeded in the restaurant business. Throughout his years of managing various cultural restaurants, Brian has extensive knowledge in restaurant industry.

Recent Posts

error: Content is protected !!